Mike Callaghan AM PSM

Chair, Australian Grants Commission

Mike Callaghan is chair of the Commonwealth Grants Commission and chaired the 2020 Review of the Retirement Income System. He spent 38 years in the Australian Treasury, including: Deputy Secretary Macroeconomic Group; Australia’s G20 Finance Deputy; Prime Minister’s Special Envoy International Economy; and Deputy Secretary Revenue Group.

He was an Executive Director at the IMF and served as Chief of Staff to the Treasurer, the Hon Peter Costello.

Mike has chaired reviews for the Australian Government covering tax, insurance, and economic regulation. He has also undertaken reviews for the IMF and World Bank and chaired replenishments of the ADB’s Asian Development Fund.

From 2018 to 2020 he was Chair on the Aged Care Financing Authority, and from 2012 to 2014, Director of the G20 Studies Centre at the Lowy Institute.  He was on the Board of the Australian Reinsurance Pool Corporation from 2017 to 2019.