Conference of Major Superannuation Funds

2018 Trustee of the Year Award

The profit-to-member super sector has many committed, hard-working trustees who recognise the needs of a changing environment, value ongoing professional development, and are committed to improving their members’ retirement outcomes.

Collectively, trustee directors ensure the financial stability of millions of members and billions of dollars across the country.

To recognise the significant contribution that trustee directors make to the profit-to-member super industry, each year the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees (AIST) is proud to offer the annual Trustee of the Year Award supported by our Premium Partner Schroders.

The prize

The award winner receives a scholarship to attend AIST's Global Dialogue in 2020. The scholarship is valued at approximately $15,000 AUD and includes conference registration, accommodation, associated functions and return economy airfares.


Photo: (L to R) AIST CEO, Eva Scheerlinck, Award Winner Cate Wood, Schroders’ Institutional Client Director, Kerrie Howard, AIST President David Smith

How to enter

To be eligible for the AIST Trustee of the Year Award, candidates must be a current trustee director of a profit-to-member superannuation fund and a current member of AIST.

To check if your fund is an AIST member click here.

Current directors serving as directors on the AIST board up to the AIST AGM 2018 are not eligible to be nominated for this award.

Trustees may be nominated by their peers or fund CEO via the online form below:

Nominations should address the below criteria in no more than 1,000 words and be received at AIST by Wednesday 31 January, 2018.

The AIST Trustee of the Year Award winner will be announced at CMSF 14 – 16 March, 2018.


Being a leading trustee means that your values are aligned with the purpose of the fund, you have skills that complement the team, you bring fresh thinking, you communicate honestly, you are accountable and challenge and learn in a respectful way.

Nominations of no more than 1,000 words should detail why you think your nominated trustee director deserves this award by providing examples and addressing the relevant components from the criteria below: 

  • Contribution to the fund via board and governance activities
  • Contribution to positive member outcomes
  • Involvement in strategic planning and development
  • Involvement in industry committees and working groups
  • Involvement in greater community projects to advance the role of superannuation
  • Alignment with fund’s culture, values, vision and mission
  • Demonstration of their capacity as a responsible fiduciary

Terms & Conditions

The 2018 Trustee of the Year award winner:

  • Is eligible for attendance to the 2020 Global Dialogue only
  • Is not transferable to an alternate years Global Dialogue
  • Is not transferrable to another person or another event
  • Must be a current trustee director of a profit-to-member superannuation fund and a current member of AIST during the 2020 Global Dialogue dates (TBC May / June 2020) 

The 2018 Trustee of the Year award includes:

  • Conference Registration to the 2020 Global Dialogue
  • Accommodation for one person at the 2020 Global Dialogue hotel
  • Attendance at the 2020 Global Dialogue associated social functions
  • Return economy airfares to / from any Australian Capital City to the 2020 Global Dialogue location

What is not included:

  • Travel insurance, transfers, extended travel or accommodation outside of the conference dates, partner program fees/travel and any incidental costs will be at the prize winners own expense

NOTE: The scholarship is not able to be taken as cash.
NOTE: Global Dialogue 2020 dates are still to be confirmed - tentatively May / June 2020.

The AIST Trustee of the Year Award is proudly supported by our Premium Partner


CMSF acknowledges and congratulates our past winners since 2000:




Cate Wood


Juliet Brown, OAM
Statewide Super SA


Joint winners:
Bob Henricks, Energy Super and
Maree O’Halloran AM, HESTA


John Brumby
MTAA Super


Gary Clifford
Fire and Emergency Services Superannuation Board


Wilhelm Harnisch


Michael O'Sullivan


David Leggo


Joint winners:
Doug Fry, Tasplan and
Bill Watton, VicSuper; Vision Super


Beth Mohle


John Burge


Gerard Noonan
JUST Super


John Taplin


David Whiteley


Barry Watchorn


Dr Diana Olsberg


Gary Davern
FAB Scheme


Beryl Ashe
SAS Trustee Corporation